National Film Award 2015 – Winners!


The National Film Award 2015 took place at the Shital Niwas in Kathmandu on Wednesday. President Ram Baran Yadav gave the Best Actress Award to Reecha Sharma for Talakjung vs Tulke and Sangam Bista for Love You Baba with Dayahang Rai taking the Best Actor Award for Sambodhan. The Best Film Award was awarded to the box office success KABADDI starring Dayahang Rai, Nischal Basnet and Rishma Gurung. Director Nischal Basnet received the Best Director Award for Talakjung vs Tulke. New-age thriller ZHIGRANA won two awards; the Best Cinematographer Award for Shailendra Dhoj Karki and Best Editor Award for Nimesh Shrestha. MATAN won the Best Film in Ethnic/Indigenous Category. Kabaddi writers Ram Babu Gurung and Upendra Subba were also awarded in the function. Film veteran Nir Shah was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The esteemed individuals making up the five-member jury were Rajendra Shalabh, Karishma Manandhar, Hemant Bidhathoki, Kapil Parajuli and Dipendra Lama.

Sangam-Bista-Nepali-Film-Award-2015 Reecha-Sharma-Nepali-Film-Award-2015 Dayahang-Rai-Nepali-Film-Award-2015


Congratulations to everyone! Having seen all of the mentioned films apart from Love You Baba and Matan, I am very happy for the winners. Well deserving!

Photos – Sushil Paudel

Follow Lex on Twitter!

Lex Limbu
Lex Limbu is a non-resident Nepali blogger based in the UK. YouTube videos is where he started initially followed by blogging. Join him on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.

Similar Articles